Chapter History

To learn more about the rich history of our beloved sorority please visit our
National Website

Tri-County Maryland Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

In 2006, Southern Maryland, Waldorf resident, Roberta Berry sought out members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., who were Charles County residents.  As the search grew it became evident that the number of interested women spanned not only Charles County, but Calvert and St. Mary’s counties as well.  Recognizing an increase in the minority population, a team of women came together to spearhead the chartering effort, along with Roberta were Dawn Chism, Elvear Johnson, and Wanda Noel.  The team along with the other interested women was determined to explore the possibility of chartering a chapter in the Tri-County MD area.  As local Deltas learned about others who lived in and around Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s Counties, the chartering team’s efforts resulted in the final move toward establishing a local sisterhood.

In August of 2010, Soror Elvear Johnson succumbed to her illness, but was fully aware of the strides of the chartering team to continue the work to charter a chapter serving the communities in the Tri-County MD area.  The chapter recognizes Soror Johnson as an honorary posthumous member.

And so, in March 2011, the Tri-County MD Alumnae Chapter (TCMDAC) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered by twenty-one dynamic women, determined to make a difference in the community.  The Chartering Ceremony was conducted by the Eastern Regional Director Robin M. Jacobs with the assistance of Eastern Regional Representative Denesia D. Parris.  Deltas from many chapters in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan area and Eastern Region came to participate, exuding the warmth of sisterhood that is so characteristic of the organization.

In the first year of the chartering TCMDAC has been served under the capable leadership of Sorors Roberta  Berry, Michelle Revells, Luchrisha Flowers, Aisha Ali, Shaquisha Bishop, Patricia Johnson, Samantha Parran, Gloria Fuller, Edith Washington, Leticia Little, Tracy Jones, Laurina Hawthorne, Cynthia Baker, Dawn Chism, Karla Wright El, Wanda Jones-Heath, Ava Morton and Priscilla Bridges. Chapter members have been actively involved in efforts to enrich, impact, and serve the communities of Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s Counties.  Always looking forward to continuing the legacy of our illustrious sisterhood as “Sisters in Service” transforming lives and impacting communities.